Saturday 23 February 2019

CorkHi10°| Lo

Cork Independent


Murray in running for European award

Wednesday, 24th January, 2018 5:57pm

Conor Murray is one of four Irish players in the running for the European Player of the Year Award. With 15 nominees on the list in total, Murray is joined by Leinster's Jonathan Sexton and Tadhg Furlong as well as Tadhg Beirne who is set to move to Munster next season from Scarlets.

The four are among 15 nominees for the award with eight different clubs represented.

The trophy, named the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy in honour of the late Munster player and coach, was won by Saracens' Owen Farrell in its inagural year in 2017 and Farrell is included in the shortlist once again.

Voting for the award is open now and fans will be in the running to win two VIP tickets to the Challenge Cup and Champions Cup finals in Bilbao next May with one night’s accommodation courtesy of EPCR.

The list will be reduced to five players in April following the Champions Cup semi-finals by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the panel of judges.

The voting will then be reopened and the winner of the 2018 award will be announced after the Champions Cup final in Bilbao on 12 May.

Murray, Sexton and Furlong joined up with the Irish camp this week after both Munster and Leinster were victorious in their final Champion's Cup pool games at the weekend; Munster beat Castres at Thomond Park 48-3 while Leinster were 23-14 victors over Montpellier. Munster, thanks to their high scoring tally, secured a home quarter-final against Toulon which is set to take place on the last weekend in March.

The Munster victory was not without its costs however, as Dave Kilcoyne picked up an injury and has been replaced by James Cronin in the Irish squad while the Munster medical team assess the extent of the injury in Limerick.

The Irish squad departed for a training camp in Oliva Nova in Spain on Monday with ten Munster players involved including Murray and Cronin along with Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Ian Keatley, Peter O’Mahony, John Ryan, Rory Scannell and CJ Stander.

The Munster squad have a break in matches this weekend after a nine-week block and will return to training next week.

EPCR European Player of the Year award 2018 nominees:

ePaper Service

Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8
Desktop, Tablet & Smartphone friendly
Cookies on Cork Independent website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Cork Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does Cork Independent use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message