Saturday 19 September 2020

CorkHi18°| Lo11°

Cork Independent

Game On

Game on

Thursday, 6th November, 2014 12:00am

AIB Munster Senior Hurling C'ship Sunday @ 2pm

Sarsfields v Kilmallock in Kilmallock

Having collected their fourth title in seven years, Sars now begin a journey that they hope will lead to a date in Croke Park on St Patrick's Day but, more importantly, to improve on what is a poor record in this competition.

Coach Pat Ryan alluded to it in the immediate aftermath of their very impressive win over Glen Rovers in the county final, suggesting they have been disappointed with their results and intend to give the club c'ship their best shot.

To be fair, they returned to training on the Thursday after the county final and while they lost to neighbours Erin's Own in the league semi-final, they really have prepared well and are ready for the challenge ahead.

Many expected them to be facing Na Piarsaigh in the semi-final, but Kilmallock deservedly dethroned the Limerick and Munster champions and with home advantage, will really fancy their chances of making further progress.

Kilmallock are backboned by inter-county players Gavin O'Mahony and Graeme Mulcahy, while Eoin Ryan (1-4 in the county final), Robbie Egan, Liam Hurley and Kevin O'Donnell will make them formidable opposition.

Sars themselves were very impressive in the county final, and while Glen played poorly, it should not detract from the quality performance that they served up.

The champions are strong in all areas. Conor O'Sullivan, Ray Ryan and Eanna Martin are solid in defence, Eoin Quigley and Daniel Kearney are probably the best midfield combination around right now while in attack they have a variety of options.

Cian McCarthy is as reliable as ever with his free-taking and from play hard to contain. Tadhg Óg Murhpy, Kieran Murphy and the fit-again Michael Cussen will keep the Kilmallock defensive unit busy for the 60 minutes.

Home advantage will obviously help the Limerick side, but that might actually ease a bit of the pressure on Sars. They are desperately keen to improve on their own and indeed Cork's poor record in this c'ship recently and the desire to get to a first Munster Club Final, might be enough to get them over the line.

AIB Munster Junior Football C'ship Sunday @ 2.30pm

Millstreet v Naomh Eoin (Clare) in Mallow

Unlike Sars, this is a first venture at this level for a very proud football club who displayed remarkable resilience to defeat the''Barrs in the county final, with yet another come-from-behind win.

No doubt they have enjoyed the celebrations, and only last week they decided against playing Boherbue in a league semi-final at divisional level, so hopefully they have re-focussed for this clash.

Very little is known about the Clare champions, but football in the Banner County is on a bit of a roll now, remember Cratloe and Dr Croke's were very close last year, so Millstreet would not want to underestimate them.

Naomh Eoin ran up some impressive scores in winning the title which would indicate they have a lively set of forwards.

It's a historic afternoon for both clubs and a semi-final spot against the Kerry champions beckons for the winners, which should be Millstreet.

AIB Munster Club Camogie Championship

Two Cork teams in action, both on Saturday in the senior grade defending and three in a row seeking champions Milford face Granagh-Ballingarry in the final in Charleville @ 2.30pm.

It's a repeat of last year's decider in which Milford won with a bit to spare, but Granagh gave them a testing 40 minutes, before the greater craft and experience of the champions surfaced.

Milford are as determined as ever and with Elaine O'Riordan, Anna Geary, the Watson sisters and Aisling Thompson anchoring their challenge, it's hard to see Granagh reversing last year's result.

Fermoy is the venue for the Intermediate Final @ 1.30pm where Sars play Lismore, who are the holders of this and the All-Ireland title, which they won after a replay last season.

Emer Fennell, Maeve McCarthy, Jenny Murphy, Katie Barry and Nicole Hickey are big players for Sars and they will need to be at their very best to win this one.

Finally heartiest congratulations to the nine Cork players who were All-Star winners last Saturday night. Special mention of Gemma O'Connor and Jennifer O'Leary on winning their eighth award and to Eimear O'Sullivan, Catriona Mackey and Joanne O'Callaghan picking up their first which is always special.

Despite this, Paudie Murray was overlooked for Manager of the Year, so it appears the camogie awards can at times be as controversial as the hurling and football awards!

ePaper Service

Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8
Desktop, Tablet & Smartphone friendly
Cookies on Cork Independent website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Cork Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does Cork Independent use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message