Saturday 06 June 2020

CorkHi12°| Lo

Cork Independent


Kevin flying solo on top team

Wednesday, 11th March, 2020 4:00pm

One outstanding player has been honoured for his contribution to his club in Cork.

Kevin O'Donovan, a wingback with Nemo Rangers, was recently named on the AIB GAA Club Football team of the year. Nemo and Cork's sole representative, Kevin was named in the number five spot after excelling for Nemo throughout their Munster-title winning campaign.

The third annual club player awards took place in Croke Park recently, with 30 of the best club hurlers and footballers honoured for their performances in the Munster and All-Ireland series.

Kevin notched 1-2 in Nemo's win over Austin Stacks in the Munster campaign, and particularly impressed in the win over Clonmel Commercials in the provincial final.

AIB, in their 29th year as sponsors of the club championships, celebrated the evening with the players, their friends, family, and GAA representatives to look back at their achievements at a ceremony which was hosted by broadcaster Damian Lawlor. The winning players were selected and voted for by national and regional sports media, based on their overall performance throughout the 2019/2020 provincial and All-Ireland club season.

All-Ireland champions Corofin had seven players named on the team while runners-up Kilcoo of Down had four representatives. The club footballer of the year went to Corofin's Ronan Steede. Despite losing out in the All-Ireland Final, Borris-Ileigh and Tipperary hurler Brendan Maher was named as the club hurler of the year. The Tipperary and Munster champions also had the largest representation on the team with five named, while All-Ireland winners Ballyhale Shamrocks had four players on the final 15.

Speaking at the awards, Denis O’Callaghan, Head of Customer Management at AIB, said: “On behalf of AIB, I would like to congratulate all of the winners. These awards honour some of the most talented players across Ireland who have shown immense dedication this season. AIB has been privileged to support them every step of the way. This is our 29th year in partnership with the championships. We are proud of our long association with the club games and our support of the junior, intermediate and senior championships across football, hurling and camogie.

“The strength of the GAA lies in the clubs, communities and people that support the players. We honour the 30 top players here but also recognise those around the country who represent their clubs with immense pride and incredible commitment. The passion shown by these players and you as supporters is truly exceptional, and something which inspires us in AIB every day.”

Football Team of the Year:

Bernard Power (Corofin)

Aaron Branagan (Kilcoo)

Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin)

Liam Silke (Corofin)

Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

Robbie McDaid (Ballyboden St Endas)

Darryl Branagan (Kilcoo)

Daithí Burke (Corofin)

Ronan Steede (Corofin)

Gary Sice (Corofin)

Paul Devlin (Kilcoo)

Seán Gannon (Éire Óg)

Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St. Endas)

Martin Farragher (Corofin)

Conor Laverty (Kilcoo)

Hurling Team of the Year:

James McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)

Joseph Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)

Shane Cooney (St Thomas’)

Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

Christopher McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

Brendan Rogers (Slaughtneil)

TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh)

Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner)

Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

Marty Kavanagh (St Mullins)

ePaper Service

Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8
Desktop, Tablet & Smartphone friendly
Cookies on Cork Independent website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Cork Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does Cork Independent use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message