Friday 24 May 2019

CorkHi| Lo

Cork Independent


Bríd wins December award

Wednesday, 2nd January, 2019 4:48pm

After enduring the heartbreak of defeats in a number of finals, the ladies footballers of Mourneabbey finally put all that behind them as they swept aside the challenge of Foxrock-Cabinteely on a dank evening in North Dublin to land the coveted All-Ireland club title.

The newly crowned champions had many stars but the performance of inspirational captain Brid O’Sullivan made her the stand out choice as the December winner of the 96FM/C103 Sports Star Award, in association with the Rochestown Park Hotel.

In accepting the award Brid said: “The goal of winning the All-Ireland really drove us on and I am really accepting this award on behalf of the team on and off the field.”

Brid paid tribute to the management team for their work all year and also thanked the sponsors for this recognition.

County Board Chairperson Tracey Kennedy was fulsome in her praise for Brid and her colleagues saying: “The spirit and determination you have shown over the years make you worthy champions and in Brid you have an inspirational captain who leads by example and I warmly congratulate you on your well deserved win.”

Tracey also thanked and congratulated 96FM/C103 and the Rochestown Park Hotel for their ongoing support and promotion of the awards as they enter their 16th year.

Tom Tobin of Rochestown Park Hotel and Isabel Keane of 96FM also congratulated Brid on her award.

Joe Blake, the newly elected Cork County Board PRO, was in attendance while the Mourneabbey management team of Aisling Murphy, Ken O’Connell and Shane Roynane were also present as were Brid's family members and playing colleagues Doireann and Roisin O’Sullivan and Anita Kelleher, to acknowledge an outstanding player.

Brid now joins the previous monthly winners ahead of the gala banquet on 25 January at which the overall winner will be announced.

Nominees include Pearse Murphy, joint winners Lorcan O’Neill and Matthew Dilworth, Linda Collins, Jack Walsh, Ruairi Deane, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Mark Coleman, Robert O’Mahoney, Orla Cotter, Ian Maguire and Ger Aherne.

ePaper Service

Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8
Desktop, Tablet & Smartphone friendly
Cookies on Cork Independent website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Cork Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does Cork Independent use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message