Thursday 09 July 2020

CorkHi11°| Lo

Cork Independent


Four minors named on best 15

Thursday, 12th September, 2019 8:43am

Four Cork minors have been named on the 2019 Football Team of the Year. Captain Conor Corbett of Clyda Rovers is named at centre forward with Buttevant's Michael O'Neill named at left half-forward while Darragh Cashman of Millstreet and Daniel Linehan of Castlemagner are both named in the half-back line together at right half-back and centre back respectively.

The announcement comes after Cork won the championship just under two weeks ago, the first All-Ireland football minor win on Leeside since 2000.

As well as four Cork players, the team features four footballers from runners-up Galway, Mayo, who won the Connacht championship, have two players, Munster champions Kerry have two, while Tyrone, Monaghan and Kildare all have one player each on the best 15. The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts, including former Dublin footballer, Tomás Quinn and Donegal’s most decorated footballer, Karl Lacey, and was fed into in part by Electric Ireland’s Player of the Week initiative on Twitter.

The panel will also select an overall Football Player of the Year whose name will be announced at the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards event.

Lacey commented: “As a former county minor, it is a massive honour for me to recognise the excellence of these young men. It really resonates with me, having put so much into my own minor career, the importance of celebrating these players commitment throughout the season.

“Playing minor is a key stepping stone in any players GAA career, and an age grade where important lessons and values are learned.

“It is only right that the achievements, commitment and dedication of these players is celebrated and what better way than an event especially for them and their families, the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards,” he added.

The Football and Hurling Teams and Players of the Year will be awarded at the third annual Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards, set to take place at Croke Park on 28 September.

Meanwhile the All-Ireland double winning Cork teams of 1990 are being honoured on paper as a new book, 'The Double: How Cork Made GAA History' was released yesterday. The book, written by Adrian Russell, details the remarkable journey, with extensive interviews from those at the centre of this piece of sporting history. Billy Morgan and Larry Thompkins, among others, recount the footballers’ efforts to keep Kerry down in Munster, as well as their run-ins with bitter rivals Meath.

Key members of the hurling panel like Tomás Mulcahy, Mark Foley and coach Gerald McCarthy remember the hurlers’ tumultuous road to success, from their shock 1989 defeat to lowly Waterford up to the classic ‘donkeys don’t win derbies’ Munster final against Tipperary in 1990 and beyond.

‘The Double: How Cork Made GAA History’ is available now for €17.99.

2019 Electric Ireland Football Team of the Year:



Jonathan McGrath – Galway (Caherlistrane)

Oisín Tunney – Mayo (Breaffy)

Ronan Boyle – Monaghan (Truagh Gaels)

Darragh Cashman – Cork (Millstreet)

Daniel Linehan – Cork (Castlemagner)

James Donaghy – Tyrone (Carrickmore St. Colmcilles)

Ethan Henry – Mayo (Mayo Gaels)

James McLaughlin – Galway (Moycullen)

Aaron Browne – Kildare (Celbridge)

Conor Corbett – Cork (Clyda Rovers)

Michael O’Neill – Cork (Buttevant)

Daniel Cox – Galway (Moycullen)

Tomo Culhane – Galway (Salthill-Knocknacarra)

Dylan Geaney – Kerry (Dingle)

ePaper Service

Page 1 Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 Page 6 Page 7 Page 8
Desktop, Tablet & Smartphone friendly
Cookies on Cork Independent website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Cork Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does Cork Independent use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message