Rory Maguire was presented with his award by Finbarr McCarthy 96/C103FM. Also present were Francis Kenneally, PRO Cork County Board; Pat Horgan, Vice-Chairman; Jerry Walsh, Coaching Officer; Stephen Cox, Marketing Manager RPH and Shane Nolan, Treasurer Castlehaven GAA Club. Photo: Tony O’Connell

July award for Rory

Cork’s exciting run to the All-Ireland Senior Football Quarter-Final was acknowledged recently when outstanding defender Rory Maguire was presented with the 96FM/C103 GAA Sports Star of the Month award for July in association with the Rochestown Park Hotel.

In a campaign that began with a narrow win over Louth, there followed exciting wins over Mayo and Roscommon that after a narrow defeat to Kerry in Munster.

While excelling as a defender, Rory also managed to chip in with 1-5 from play, the goal coming in the Quarter-Final loss to Derry in Croke Park.

The Castlehaven player was delighted to be honoured but was quick to praise his teammates. “It is a lovely award but we are in it as a team and while we had a reasonable year, we are determined to go further and build on what we achieved this season.”

County Board Vice-Chairman Pat Horgan in congratulating Rory said the football team had an encouraging year and hopefully they can make further progress next season and he paid tribute to all involved for their hard work, and wished Rory well as he now concentrates on the county championship, while he also thanked the sponsors for their continued support and pro-motion of these awards.

Steve Cox of the Rochestown Park Hotel also congratulated Rory and he looked forward to Cork continuing to contend for honours in the coming season.

Rory was accompanied by family members including his grandmother Kathleen, officials from his club Castlehaven, and Cork manager John Cleary.

C103’s Jim Nolan and County Board Officers Jerry Walsh and Francis Kenneally were also in attendance with two former monthly award winners Mark Collins and Brian Hurley.

Rory now joins the previous monthly winners in this the 20th year of the very prestigious awards scheme. Ballygiblin’s Shane Betson was the January recipient, UCC’s Dylan Foley was the February winner, Mitchelstown CBS Manager Willie Duggan was the March winner, with Cork under 20 hurler Eoin Downey picking up the April award. Cork ladies football star Doireann O’Sullivan was the May recipient while Cork under 20 hurling captain Michael Mullins was the June recipient.

The gala banquet will be held on 26 January 2024.