Boherbue Tidy Towns who were nominated in Category 1 (Population 0-500). Pictured are Clare Barr, Cork County Council; Naill Healy, Director of Service, Cork County Council; Margaret Murphy, Boherbue Tidy Towns; Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr Frank O’Flynn and Michael Cronin, Boherbue Tidy Towns.

Cork wins at Pride of Place Awards

Grace Sweeney

Cork County Council was among the big winners at this year’s recent Pride of Place awards.

This year Cork County Council had five community nominations and was awarded the overall prestigious award for Council Community Engagement.

The award ceremony took place in Armagh City Hotel on Friday 10 November and saw people from all over Ireland in attendance for the highly anticipated Pride of Place awards.

Other Cork winners included Banteer Community Group, which took home the award for Holistic Community Well Being while Youghal Tidy Towns and Rylane Community Park Association were special award winners.

Clonakilty Tidy Towns came runner up in the category for Climate Action and Biodiversity and Boherbue Tidy Towns were also nominated for an award.

Since 2003, the awards have honoured the remarkable contributions of individuals and community groups who are committed to improving their local communities.

Each year the communities nominated demonstrate to the judges their pride in their place through presentations, where they highlight community activities, culture and other aspects that contribute to their pride of place.

Congratulating the winners, Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr Frank O’Flynn said: “It’s heartening to see the hard work and dedication these individuals have put into their communities. The high standard of competition and the achievements of all the nominees recognised tonight is testament to their unwavering efforts and contribution, by working together they have made a real and practical difference in their localities. It’s a great honour to see their contributions be rewarded on such a public stage.”

Chief Executive of Cork County Council, Valerie O’Sullivan added: “My congratulations to all the communities for their fantastic achievements, the awards they received tonight demonstrate their exceptional efforts and commitment to improving their communities. We are immensely proud that Cork County Council has been awarded the Community Engagement Award. We take great pride in our connection to our communities and will continue to further strengthen these partnerships into the future.”

The Pride of Place awards is run by Co-operation Ireland and is sponsored by IPB Insurance.