At the Rochestown Park Hotel for the Cork 96FM C103 GAA Sports Star of the Month Award for December were recipient Una Twohig, Naomh Aban with Denis Kelliher, Chairman Naomh Aban Ladies Football Club; Marc Sheehan Chairman Cork County GAA Board; Finbarr McCarthy Cork 96FM; Isabel Keane, Head of Sponsorship, Promotions and Marketing Cork 96FM/C103 and Steve Cox, Sales and Marketing Manager RPH. Photo: Tony O’ConneLL

Una takes December sports award

“It really was a fantastic season and it certainly exceeded our expectations, winning a county and Munster title, was special.”

The words of Naomh Abán’s Una Twohig after she was presented with the 96FM/C103 GAA Sports Star Award for December in recognition of her contribution her side winning both the county and Munster Junior Ladies Football titles.

That they came up just short in the All-Ireland Final should not take from their achievements, and Una agreed. “We lost to a very good team but we gave it our best shot and that’s all you can ask for, now it’s time to relax and plan for next year.”

As for the award, she said it was “lovely to get it and I owe to my team mates for their hard work all year, great group of players and a wonderful backroom team made it all possible”.

County Board Chairman Marc Sheehan congratulated Una and Naomh Abán. “It was a great year for Naomh Abán and Una’s part in that success is rightly acknowledged here and hopefully they can make further progress next year.”

Marc also paid tribute to the sponsors for their continued support of these prestigious awards. “Rochestown Park Hotel are great supporters of Cork GAA and we really appreciate that, while the extensive coverage of our games by 96FM/C103 is really appreciated.”

Steve Cox of Rochestown Park Hotel and Isabel Keane of 96FM also congratulated Una on her award and wished her and Naomh Abán continued success.

Una was joined by her family, including fiancée Alan Vaughan who plays with Cill Na Martra, club officials and several players who were central to the club’s great season, while County Board PRO Francis Kenneally and Naomh Abán clubman Liam Weir were also in attendance.

The gala banquet will take place on Friday 10 February in the Rochestown Park Hotel at which GAA President Larry McCarthy is the guest of honour.

The monthly winners include St Finbarr’s duo Sam Ryan and Ben Cunningham, Nemo Rangers’ Kevin O’Donovan, St Michaels and Blackrock dual star Robbie Cotter, handball champions Donncha O’Connor and Brendan Fleming, colleges winners Rochestown College and Beara Community School, camogie star Libby Coppinger, Ballygiblin’s Sean O’Sullivan, All-Ireland Hurling Final referee Colm Lyons, Ballingeary’s Ben Shorten and Erin’s Own Kieran Murphy.

Two other awards will be presented on the night including the Kieran O’Driscoll Youth award won last year by Ballinhassig’s Darragh O’Sullivan, while Ger Fitzgerald picked up the Donal Lehane Distinguished Career Award, and St Finbarr’s Brian Hayes won the overall award.

Who will be the winners for 2022? All will be revealed on 10 February!