Cork U20 hurler William Buckley accepting his award with Tom Tobin, Rochestown Park Hotel; Derek Connolly, Cork County Board; Finbarr McCarthy 96FM presenting the award; Niall Kennefick, St Finbarrs and Pat Horgan, Cork County GAA Board. Photo: Tony O’Connell

William wins April award

Cork’s under 20 hurling campaign may not have ended the way they would have wished for but that should not take from the outstanding contribution made by William Buckley in the group stages.

As Cork advanced to the Munster semi-final with excellent wins over Waterford, Limerick and Clare, William produced some top class displays and indeed scores, without doubt one of the Cork sides top players in those big games.

In recognition of this the St Finbarr’s man was presented with the 96FM/C103 GAA Sports Star of the month award for April in association with the Rochestown Park Hotel.

William said: “Obviously we had hoped to extend the season that bit further but despite that we had a good few months and indeed last season as well and hopefully it will benefit Cork hurling the success we enjoyed.”

He was fulsome in his praise for team coach Ben O’Connor: “Ben was brilliant and we as a group learned so much from him and I cannot thank him enough for his contribution.”

County Board Chairman Pat Horgan, in congratulating William, said: “You were one of our standout players all season and I am sure you have a very bright future ahead of you for both club and county and you are well deserving of this award.

“I would also like to thank both 96FM/C103 and the Rochestown Park Hotel for their continued support of Cork GAA and the promotion of these prestigious awards,” he added.

Tom Tobin Rochestown Park Hotel also congratulated William and wished him continued success for the rest of the year.

Family and friends were in attendance while his club were represented by Niall Kennefick and Paul Goggin, Derek Connolly a valued member of the backroom team was present along with playing colleagues Darragh O’Sullivan and David Cremin.

This is the 21st year of the awards and the overall winner will be announced at a gala banquet on 31 January 2025.